qertvue.blogg.se

Perl script
Perl script




  1. PERL SCRIPT HOW TO
  2. PERL SCRIPT DOWNLOAD

$files_location = "/home/files/download/photos" This folder can be outside the server’s document root directory. The value must be an absolute reference to the folder on the server. My we want to specify the server path to the files to be downloaded.

perl script

Now, we’ll declare 3 variables: my $files_location The next 2 lines specify that we want to use the CGI module, and that we want to display any fatal errors in the browser window. If you’re not sure of your server’s operating system or the path to Perl, check with your Web host. On a Windows machine, a common shebang line is " #!C:perlbinperl.exe" (note the slashes are backslashes in this case). Most Linux/Unix servers have the Perl interpreter in this location. The “ -wT” is optional, but you should use it because it turns on warnings and checks for tainted data. The shebang line begins with the pound character, followed by an exclamation point and the path to the server’s Perl interpreter.

perl script

Let’s Get Started!īegin your script by adding the shebang line. The script also has to be on the same server as the directory of the files to be downloaded. Requirementsįor this script to work, all your photographs (or any other files that you’re offering as a download) must be located in one directory.

perl script

PERL SCRIPT DOWNLOAD

The example we’ll go through will mask the download URL, record each download to a log file, and present the visitor with a “save as…” dialog box.

PERL SCRIPT HOW TO

In this tutorial I’m going to show you how to build a simple download script using Perl. My solution was to create a Perl script to mask the URLs of the files on my Website. Second, I discovered that some Websites had direct links to my photographs, so that my images appeared to be part of the content of these sites.īesides being impolite, this so called "hot" linking costs me money, as my Web host charges for the bandwidth I use.

perl script

However, 2 problems soon became apparent with this system.įirst, some visitors didn’t understand exactly how to download the files to their computers. I used to simply have the files display in the browser window so that visitors could right-click and save them to their computers. I have a Website that presents photographs for visitors to download.






Perl script